Top 5 TV/Web series you should watch on Netflix right now.

Yay, it’s finally another top rated lists post! As mentioned in my previous top list I find it so hard to rank stuff when it comes to films and all things glorious so again, me being the cop-out that I am, this will be another unranked list. Maybe I will one day face the music and pick favourites but for now, the answer is no.

So after hearing positive things about my Stranger Things review and my ability to persuade people to watch amazing things, I thought I’d do a list of series currently available on Netflix that you should definitely check out because if you have Netflix and no life in much the same way I don’t, you don’t have any excuse not to. Without further ado then, and remember, these are in NO PARTICULAR ORDER;

Stranger Things (2016)

Naturally this has to make its way onto the list. It’s so unique, so clever and so enticing that if you haven’t already been watching, you definitely snetflix-stranger-things-posterhould be. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and make you want to keep coming back for more. I
don’t want to say too much to give the plot away because it is best going in blind, but there’s several strands of narrative that are all woven together so brilliantly and so intriguing.

Dexter (2006-2013)

Dexter is a series that was popular long ago, it’s still well loved but its availability on Netflix allows a new audience to appreciate it. If you don’t like gore this maybe isn’t the series for you, but it’s a clever twist on the crime drama with dark dexter-titleshumour and is well worth a watch. It’s tense, hilarious and a brilliant blend of two story lines. Dexter is one of my favourite series of all time and is one I’ll definitely be re-watching sometime soon. Just don’t watch the last series, it’s a disappointing end to a brilliant run and isn’t worth mentioning.

Scream (2015-)

A current Netflix original runner, I am really enjoying their take on the cult film series. Running on a slightly different narrative, the series dscream_tv_logooes touch base and pay homage to the original films with similar characters and replica scenarios. The danger with basing a series on popular films, however, is that
people know and love the original narratives so the newer adaptations might not be as good. I would argue this isn’t the case with Scream, despite its bases the twists are different and come series two, the narrative takes a somewhat different course meaning the similarities end and you can enjoy a completely different murder story.

How I Met Your Mother (2005-2014)

Okay. A somewhat different kind of series here but one I’m not ashamed of admitting I’ve watched about 3 times through already. I’m sure everyone knows of the how-i-met-your-motherexistence of this sit-com centred around a group of friends during their late 20’s through their 30’s. When I initially became aware of its
existence I was convinced it was a rip off from Friends and a few people had said the same, but I can guarantee you it is absolutely not. Yes it centres around a group of people who sleep around with each other, who seem to spend their social lives with each other and all move in and out of the same few apartments, but the feel and humour is totally different. If you like a laugh, have a random sense of humour and a heart it’s well worth a watch.

Fargo (2014-)

The second series on this list whose origins lie in their film older brother. This one is slightly more grounded in its origins with Joel and Ethan Coen (directors, producers, writers and editors of the film) taking on executive production roles for the fargo-title-shotTV series. Having never seen the film (yet) I don’t feel I can draw comparisons from that perspective but the TV series is absolutely brilliant. A thriller with elements of dark comedy in, Fargo is gripping and the brilliant cast create an amazing combination. Yeah, the episodes are long but in my opinion thats just more available time spent on a watchable series.

One thought on “Top 5 TV/Web series you should watch on Netflix right now.

Leave a Reply

