Coffee Shop Reflections

By way of explanation and possible future apology I’m writing this blog post. I’m currently part way through the journey to Wales to see friends and attend a wedding. As is always the case, Monday Misfortunes have struck and my train was delayed meaning I missed my connection and have been stranded in Wolverhampton for 2 hours. Alas, it is not all doom and gloom, 2 minutes from the train station is a really nice Costa, so here I am, stationed at a table with a vanilla latte to my right (a really good one too). Despite the misfortune it has given me a bit of chance to breathe and enjoy things I wouldn’t normally give myself the time for.

Blogging

Yes, I know I post normally anyway but I’ve actually got time now to read through other peoples which is always really motivating and inspiring. I can get loads of new ideas but also enjoy reading blogs for myself. In particular I follow a few other film review websites and it’s interesting to read their take on films.

Reading

So after finishing Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (it’s really good) I’m now reading Ayoade on Ayoade: A Cinematic Odyssey which is absolutely hilarious. It’s a book I would only recommend if you have any interest/love for Richard Ayoade because if you know nothing about him or what he’s like, this book would just seem like another world to you.

Music

I’m one of these people that hates silence and I pretty much constantly have music or something playing in the background. At the moment I’m listening to the Swiss Army Man soundtrack. It’s absolutely brilliant, an acapella medley but with all the emotions and power of an every day film soundtrack. So good and so chilled.

Writing

So as I may have mentioned a few times before, I’m in the process of writing a script for a competition in Liverpool. It’s for a play as opposed to film or television but that was how I started out writing so it almost feels really natural to me. I’m trying to do a family drama with some comedy in but I’m not one for trying to make the comedy really obvious so I’m trying to create humour just through the situations. I’m loving it at the moment and having just been home this weekend I’ve take some inspiration from moments there and feel ready to finish the script this week. I’m a little script-shy/script-proud though and hate people reading through my work. It sounds bizarre but it feels like a violation to allow other people to read my work, I dunno, I’ve always hated showing my work to people but I’m going to have to with this one. We’ll see how that goes.

I probably should be job hunting. I probably should be getting on with a lot of other stuff but sometimes its nice to take a little time out for yourself and do what you enjoy. Plus in a coffee shop you can enter your own little bubble and sometimes that’s what I need.

Leave a Reply

