My 5 Favourite Musical Films

It’s that time again, I’m not even going to try and explain this or give any exposition, just going to dive straight in. I’m feeling generous, I might even try and rank this one.

5. Chicago (2002) chicago

I think this was one of the first 12 (PG-13) rated film that I ever watched and have loved it ever since then. The songs are catchy and for people that don’t like the suspension of disbelief that most musical require when they break into song randomly, Chicago offers a decent explanation for it. It’s racy and has elements of courtroom drama in, two elements which wouldn’t normally pair together. The performances are great, especially considering it’s the actors singing.

4. Moulin Rouge! (2001)

This used to be my all time favourite musicals but I think being my idiotic self I’ve watched  it too many times and it’s dropped in the rankings. I have already reviewed Moulin Rouge! and hopefully demonstrated my love for the film and Ewan McGregor’s angelic voice but still, well worth a watch if you love musicals or even if you don’t.

poster-singin-in-the-rain_063. Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

A bit of a classic here but I hadn’t actually seen this film till my second year of university in 2013. As a big fan of musicals and a MASSIVE lover of Classical Hollywood cinema this film so right up my street and cheers me up no matter what my mood is. Even if you are adamant you hate watching old films, Singin’ in the Rain is a definite must watch, it’s such an easy film to take in and there’s something in it for everyone. With no prompting to watch my brothers picked this film one movie night and thought it was absolutely brilliant, give it a go.

2. Phantom of the Opera (2004)

Argh Gerard Butler. What a beauty. This film is absolutely brilliant, with a powerful music score and a narrative full of questions Phantom of the Opera is a must for musical fans. If you’re not a massive appreciator of the genre or even a classical music lover it may be a little too much to take in but the narrative is genius and contrary to most people’s expectations, the film isn’t all singing.

poto2

1. Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007)

How could this film not be on this list? It’s got my favourite combination of everything in and is just absolutely spot on. If you love Tim Burton or love a bit of horror and gore you HAVE to watch this film. Musical fan or not this film is an absolute masterpiece and if that doesn’t entice you I have written a full review.

 

Leave a Reply

